Johnathan Matlock wins a poster prize

johno1Congratulations to Johnathan Matlock who won 1st Prize for Best Poster Presentation in the Organic & Biological Section of the 3rd Royal Society of Chemistry Younger Members Symposium. Johnathan presented his latest research on the synthesis of heterocycles using vinylsulfonium salts at the meeting in Birmingham on June 24th. Johnathan is jointly supervised by Eoghan and Prof Varinder Aggarwal and is a student in the Bristol Chemical Synthesis CDT. His PhD is sponsored by GSK and the EPSRC.


Two Talks This Week

Eoghan presented the group’s research at two meetings this week. Firstly he gave a talk at the RSC Carbohydrate Group Spring Meeting, in Bath (UK). The highlight of the carbohydrate group meeting was the award of the Haworth Medal to Prof David Crich and his Award Lecture. Following this Eoghan spoke at the RSC Symposium on Stereochemistry in Dublin. This symposium was organised to coincide with the award of the RSC Stereochemistry Medal to Prof Peter O’Brien and the delivery of his Award Lecture. Pictured below are the speakers at the RSC Stereochemistry Symposium (Dr Chris Braddock, Dr Francesca Paradisi, Prof Declan Gilheany, Dr Matt Cook, Prof Peter O’Brien, Dr John Stephens, Prof Ray Jones (RSC Organic Division President), Eoghan and Prof Pat Guiry (symposium organizer)).

RSC Stereochemistry 2014_cropped