Azetidine paper published in Synthesis

Our latest paper has been published online in Synthesis. The article describes a new method for the synthesis of azetidines using bromoethyldiphenylsulfonium triflate. Azetidines are attracting a lot of attention from medicinal chemists at the moment.

Synthesis 2012, e-first. Sven P. Fritz, Juan F. Moya, Matthew G. Unthank, Eoghan M. McGarrigle*, Varinder K. Aggarwal* — ‘An Efficient Synthesis of Azetidines with (2-Bromoethyl)sulfonium Triflate.’ DOI: 10.1055/s-0031-1290951

Congratulations to the whole team involved in this paper. Pictured is Sven who bought the drinks for the lab party to celebrate this publication!


Eoghan wins an SFI SIRG Award

Eoghan has been awarded a Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) Starting Investigator Research Grant (SIRG). Eoghan is one of 22 young scientists to be awarded a grant under the 12.3 million Euro scheme which covers all areas of science in SFI’s remit. The highly-sought-after award includes full funding for a PhD studentship to work in Eoghan’s new research group in University College Dublin.

The announcement was made in the Tyndall National Institute in Cork on Friday by the Minister of Research and Innovation, Mr Sean Sherlock TD. Announcing the investment, Minister Sherlock said: “We are determined as a Government to ensure that the very best young scientific talent is given compelling reasons to either stay in Ireland or come from abroad and conduct research here. The SIRG Programme provides an opportunity for researchers at a pivotal juncture in their careers to propel themselves to the next level and realise their potential in their respective fields.”

Funding for the award comes from SFI and the international Marie-Curie COFUND scheme.

SFI Press Release             Government Press Release         The Irish Times                  More Irish Times

Pictures to follow.

Varinder Aggarwal Elected to the Royal Society

We congratulate our collaborator Prof. Varinder Aggarwal, who has achieved the rare distinction of being elected a Fellow of The Royal Society – the world’s most eminent and oldest scientific academy in continuous existence; founded in 1660, it is a Fellowship of 1,400 outstanding individuals representing science, engineering and medicine – a global scientific network of the highest calibre. Past and present members include Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, Robert Boyle, Henry LeChatelier, John Dalton, Lord Kelvin, Francis Crick and Stephen Hawking. Fellows of the Royal Society are elected for life and designate themselves through the use of the letters FRS after their names. Only 44 new members are elected each year.

The citation from the Royal Society reads: Varinder Aggarwal, is distinguished for his outstanding contributions to the field of asymmetric synthesis, particularly applications of ylide chemistry where he is the world leader.

Our Article on Bromoethyldiphenylsulfonium triflate goes live.

Our latest article on bromoethyldiphenylsulfonium triflate has been published online in the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. The article reviews the use of this reagent and related reagents in synthesis, including (but not limited to) our own contributions.

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis; Ed. Paquette, L.A.; Crich, D.; Fuchs, P. L.; Molander, G. A.; John Wiley & Sons Ltd.; M. Yar, E. M. McGarrigle, V. K. Aggarwal — ‘Sulfonium, Ethenyldiphenyl-, 1,1,1-Trifluoromethanesulfonate’, eEROS (2012). DOI: 10.1002/047084289X.rn01409

Pictured are Varinder Aggarwal and Muhammad Yar.